top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan

Our baby goat needs a name!

When we lost our two baby goats back in December I was heartbroken. I was done with goats. Done trying to raise life stock. Done trying to be a mini farmer. I was so proud when our two pygmy goats blessed us with these two babies, only to have my heart torn in pieces when we lost them one after another. We bought these pygmy's around May 2020 and apparently two were pregnant. They all lived together in a herd with this gorgeous buck Sparky.


They say goats are hardy animals. But in all honesty they are not. They need special care and have their special needs. These two babies were born in the middle of a harsh winter. It was cold and very wet! We just build a lean-to, had it enclosed on three sides and we had 11 goats to keep everyone warm in that lean-to. But it wasn't enough. I put the babies in fleece pj's. I checked up on them many times a day and just like that they were gone. Playing in the morning, gone at night. We sold our pygmy goats, kept our one female goat that we already had before we brought the pygmy goats onto our mini farm, and kept the original wethers and buckling. We did not know that Athena was pregnant. She is a Pygmy Saanen cross and she is just always fat. She eats well and it wasn't until the very last week when we saw her udder getting HUGE that we knew something was up.

We had a day full of turbulent weather events early March and tornado warnings all day. After the storm had passed, my husband and I went to check on our goats and low and behold there is this little white ball of fluff in the pasture. WHAT NOW? We didn't want any more babies. But he was so cute and Athena turned out to be quite the mom! She was a first time mom and this guy was already dry and suckling. Over the next few weeks he grew and grew and he got bigger than our other two babies. He is so much larger now than the other two were at the same age. My husband and I sat down and reevaluated our goat area and decided we should expand and make a house for the boys. I have two bucks and 2 wethers as well. And we should look for two more females so we can control when the breeding happens.



This little guy will eventually join his male friends, but he needs a name! I was too scared to name him because I didn't want to get too attached, but I think it is time! Susan

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page